0 like 0 dislike
asked in Pak. Studies by (474k points)
What is the June 3, 1947 Plan ?

1 Answer

0 like 0 dislike
answered by (474k points)
According to the 3rd June 1947 plan, the British government announced that India would be divided into two countries: Pakistan and India.

The Indian Independence Act 1947 (1947 c. 30 (10 & 11. Geo. 6.)) is an Act of the Parliament of the United Kingdom that partitioned British India into the two new independent dominions of India and Pakistan. The Act received the royal assent on 18 July 1947, and thus modern Pakistan and India came into being on 15 August.

The legislature representatives of the Indian National Congress,[2] the Muslim League,[3] and the Sikh community[4] came to an agreement with Lord Mountbatten on what has come to be known as the 3 June Plan or Mountbatten Plan. This plan was the last plan for independence.


Attlee's announcement

The Prime Minister of the United Kingdom announced on 20 February 1947 that:

the British Government would grant full self-government to British India by 30 June 1948 at the latest,

The future of the Princely States would be decided after the date of final transfer is decided.[5]

Future of the Princely States

Attlee wrote to Mountbatten on 18 March 1947: "It is, of course, important that the Indian States should adjust their relations with the authorities to whom it is intended to hand over power in British India; but as was explicitly stated by the Cabinet Mission His Majesty's Government do not intend to hand over their powers and obligations under paramountcy to any successor Government. It is not intended to bring paramountcy as a system to a conclusion earlier than the date of the final transfer of power, but you are authorised, at such time as you think appropriate, to enter into negotiations with individual States for adjusting their relations with the Crown."[6]

3 June Plan

This was also known as the Mountbatten Plan. The British government proposed a plan announced on 3 June 1947 that included these principles:

Principle of the Partition of British India was accepted by the British Government

Successor governments would be given dominion status


The Act's most important provisions were:-

division of British India into the two new and fully sovereign dominions of India and Pakistan, with effect from 15 August 1947;

partition of the provinces of Bengal and Punjab between the two new countries;

establishment of the office of Governor-General in each of the two new countries, as representatives of the Crown;

conferral of complete legislative authority upon the respective Constituent Assemblies of the two new countries;

termination of British suzerainty over the princely states, with effect from 15 August 1947, and recognised the right of states to remain independent or accede to either dominion[7]

abolition of the use of the title "Emperor of India" by the British monarch (this was subsequently executed by King George VI by royal proclamation on 22 June 1948).

The Act also made provision for the division of joint property, etc. between the two new countries, including in particular the division of the armed forces
Welcome to Free Homework Help, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community. Anybody can ask a question. Anybody can answer. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top. Join them; it only takes a minute:

10.2k questions

9.2k answers


3.2k users


Free Hit Counters